Skip to main content
12th November 2019

Young Pastry Chef of the Year 2020 opens for entry

Written by: Edward Waddell
Town & Country Fine Foods has launched the Young Pastry Chef of the Year 2020, which is open to pastry chefs aged 23 and under on 1 March 2020.

The competition was set up in memory of David Lyell, founder and former chairman of Town & Country Fine Foods who passed away in 2009.

To enter you have to submit dish names, recipes, methods, timings and costing for the following dishes: a plated restaurant dessert (4 portions) and a skills test using a chocolate centrepiece.

Twelve candidates will be selected to advance to the semi-finals which will take place on 3 March 2020 at Glasgow College, Sheffield College and Town and Country’s development kitchen in Slough. The semi-final will consist of a set of specific pastry tasks with six pastry chefs advancing to the final.

The final will take place on 7 April 2020 at the Claire Clarke Academy, Milton Keynes.

Finalists will be required to prepare and present their dishes within a four-hour time period. The six finalists must supply their own ingredients and equipment.

Lecturers, mentors and head chefs are allowed to help finalists set up and clear down but they will not be allowed to be present during the competition.

The judging panel for the Young Pastry Chef of the Year includes chair of judges Ross Sneddon, Benoit Blin, Mick Burke, Mark Poynton, Jerome Dreux and Liam Grimes.

The judging criteria is based on flavour (30%), presentation (25%), innovation (15%), hygiene (10%) and working method (20%). A maximum of 10 points for each will be deducted from wastage and timings.

The winner will receive the David Lyell Scholarship. The winning package includes:

  • A trip to Felchlin in Switzerland, to attend their brand new Condirama course, to be taken between July and November 2020
  • Engraved silver salver
  • £250 cash prize
  • A Leather Chef Knife case

Second place will receive a cash prize of £150 and third place will get £100. David Bentley and George McIvor will present the trophies and prizes from 7pm.  

To enter, email before the 4 February 2020 deadline.