Skip to main content
6th April 2023

Craft Guild of Chefs reveals shortlisted nominees for 2023 Awards

Written by: Edward Waddell
The Craft Guild of Chefs has revealed the shortlisted nominees for the 2023 Awards, which will be announced on 1st June at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London.

The Craft Guild of Chefs Awards are seen as the chefs’ Oscars recognising the exceptional talent across the whole of our industry – from apprentice and young chefs just starting out to chefs who are established in their careers in hospitality, pubs and restaurants.

Commenting on the Awards, Steve Munkley, vice president of the Craft Guild of Chefs, said: “Championing and nurturing talent is at the heart of the Craft Guild of Chefs ethos, and what better way to inspire and encourage chef talent then by having them recognised by their peers.”

In addition to the 17 categories listed below, the Craft Guild of Chefs will also present a Special Award to the chef who, above all others, has made an outstanding contribution to the industry.

The nominees include:

Accredited College Restaurant of the Year Award – New for 2023:

  • Loughborough College
  • Sheffield College
  • Westminster Kingsway College

Apprentice Chef Award:

  • Bilal Kazmi, Apprentice Chef, Amadeus - NEC Group
  • Eimear McCarthy, Student, South Eastern Regional College
  • John Rushton Jones, Apprentice Chef, Amadeus - NEC Group
  • Maisy Wilby, Apprentice Chef de Partie, Eat Vietnam & UCB

Armed Services Chef Award:

  • CPO (CS) Scott Furber, Royal Navy 
  • Cpl William Salmon, Royal Air Force
  • SSgt Grahame Wickham, Unit Catering Manager, British Army

Banqueting and Events Chef Award:

  • Aaron Johnson-Waters, Executive Chef, Amadeus - NEC Group
  • Ian Page, Executive Chef, Payne & Gunter
  • Peter Thompson, Head Chef, P & J Live

Chef Lecturer Award:

  • Darren Creed, Curriculum Manager and Chef Lecturer, Loughborough college
  • Anthony Gascoigne, Chef Lecturer (Head of Culinary Arts), North Hertfordshire College
  • Len Unwin, Curriculum Team Leader, Sheffield College

Chef's Favourite Branded Chain Restaurant (following public vote):

  • Prezzo Restaurants
  • Stonehouse Pizza and Carvery
  • Toby Carvery

Competition Chef Award:

  • Michael Ho Lam Kwan, Executive Pastry Chef, The Dorchester
  • Adam Thomason, Culinary Director, Absolute Taste
  • SSgt Grahame Wickham, Unit Catering Manager, British Army

Contract Catering Chef Award:

  • Wayne Corbett, Executive Chef, National Grid
  • David Hearn, Chef Manager, Compass UK & Ireland, ESS
  • Hannah Robinson, Head Pastry Chef, BaxterStorey

Development Chef Award:

  • Martyn Lee, Executive Chef, Waitrose
  • Terry O'Riordan, Owner and Development Chef, Keto Chefs
  • Colin Wheeler-James, Development Chef, IMCD Group / Ground Up Cookery

Culinary Hero Award:

  • Matt Abe, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay 
  • Paul Askew, The Art School 
  • Darren Passmore, Compass Group & Co Owner Rustic Rhubarb 
  • Gary Townsend, One Devonshire Garden 
  • Colin Wheeler-James, IMCD Group / Ground Up Cookery School

New Restaurant of the Year Award:

  • Jack Croft and William Murray, Fallow Restaurant
  • Rob and Donna Taylor, Tallow Restaurant
  • Tom Shepherd, Upstairs by Tom Shepherd

Pastry Chef Award:

  • Ben Crocker, Pastry Chef, Compass Group UK & Ireland
  • Michael Ho Lam Kwan, Executive Pastry Chef, The Dorchester
  • Mark Perkins, Executive Pastry Chef, Rosewood London

Pub Restaurant Chef Award:

  • Phil Mason, Chef Patron, The Rat Inn
  • Jonny McNeil and Steven Kerr, Co-Chef Proprietors, The Loch & The Tyne
  • Gordon Stott, Chef Patron, The Purefoy

Public Sector Catering Chef Award:

  • Scott Freeman, Culinary Director, ESS Defence
  • Tony Murphy, Executive Chef - Government Services, ESS
  • Gary Periti, Culinary Development Manager, Schools & Universities, Sodexo UK & Ireland

Restaurant Chef Award:

  • Sally Abe, Consultant Chef, The Pem - Conrad London St James
  • George Blogg, Executive Head Chef, Gravetye Manor
  • Adam Handling, Chef Owner, Adam Handling Restaurant Group
  • Elly Wentworth, Executive Chef, The Angel - Taste of Devon, Holland Group

Sustainability Excellence Award:

  • Adnams PLC
  • Amadeus, NEC Group
  • Sergio Cinotti - Gem42

Young Chef Award:

  • Nathan Johnson, Senior Chef de Partie, Royal Crescent Hotel and Spa
  • Cameron Jones, Chef Cook, Waterside Inn
  • Thomas Marriage, Chef de Partie, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

To book your place at the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards, visit here.