Skip to main content
Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2019 Park Lane Hilton London event Marco Pierre White winners
6th June 2019

Craft Guild of Chefs gets ready for 26th annual awards

Written by: Edward Waddell
The Craft Guild of Chefs has been counting down to one of its biggest events of the year. The 26th annual awards will take place today, Thursday 6 June at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

Andrew Bennett, chairman of the Craft
Guild of Chefs said: “As the leading chefs’ organisation, we
acknowledge remarkable talent across
the UK and beyond, and applaud the work our chefs do. Whether they work in public sector catering, pubs or restaurants. We look forward to an evening of celebrating culinary excellence.

“Every year it is a challenging process for our judges to choose from so many impressive award entries. Each of the finalists on this years’ shortlist proved to represent a unique set of culinary talents.”

A total of 17 awards will be presented on the night, including best restaurant chef, apprentice chef and new restaurant of the year. Previous winners of Craft Guild of Chef awards include Marco Pierre White, Alain Ducasse and James Martin.

The innovation award will be voted for by the guests and announced on the night. This special award will be reserved for someone who the Craft Guild of Chefs believes has made an outstanding contribution to the industry. 

This year Craft Guild of Chefs has introduced a new award, Chef’s favourite Branded Group where the winner will have demonstrated an original menu and consistently high food quality.   

All finalists of the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards will be given a complimentary ticket to attend this year’s Craft Guild of Chefs, Universal Cookery and Food Festival (UCFF), taking place on Tuesday 25 June 2019 at Farrington Oils in Northamptonshire.

The full list of finalists are:

Apprentice Chef Award

Ethan Cleary, The Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Patrycia Gora, Sodexo

Paige Hill, Royal Garden Hotel

Ben Jacob, Gatwick Airport

Armed Services Chef Award

Christopher Beavis, Royal Air Force

Angus Campbell, Royal Logistics Corps

Cpl David Davey-Smith, Royal Air Force

Stephen Stokoe, Royal Navy

Banqueting and Event Chef Award

Gemma Amor, Sodexo, Ascot Racecourse

Brian Canale, Heritage Portfolio

Tom Parry, Levy UK

Chef Lecturer Award

Gregg Brown, University of West London

Andrea Ruff, The Claire Clarke Academy

Len Unwin, The Sheffield College

Chef’s Favourite Branded Restaurant

Bills Restaurants

Cote Brasserie

Franco Manca

Leon Restaurants

Miller & Carter


Yo! Sushi

Competition Chef Award

Cpl Ian Mark, Royal Air Force

Cpl Stefan Sewell, Royal Air Force

Graham Singer, ESS Support Services Worldwide

Contract Catering Chef Award

Paul Connolly, Amadeus

James Larkins, Compass Group

Adam Thomason, Restaurant Associates

Development Chef Award

David Humphreys, Tillery Valley Foods

Danny Silcock, Brakes

Laurence Tottingham, Oliver Kay, part of Bidfresh

Innovation Award

Will Bowlby, Kricket

Andrew Clarke, St Leonards Restaurant

Andrew Wong, Kyms Restaurant

New Restaurant of the Year Award

Alex Bond, Alchemilla Restaurant

Tom Brown, Cornerstone

Tomos Parry, Brat Restaurant

Pastry Chef Award

Martin Dockett, Rhockett

Clarisse Flon, Cafe Forty One

Sarah Frankland, Penny Hill Park Hotel

People’s Choice Award

Murray Chapman, First Contact Chefs

David Croft, Ex Chef, Disability Campaigner and Author

Scott Whiteing, Genuine Dining Company

Pub Restaurant Chef Award

Leigh Evans, Methuen Arms

Robert Taylor, The Compasses Inn

Dave Wall, The Unruly Pig

Public Sector Chef Award

Steven Cross, Park Community School

Ryan Hopper, ESS Defence

Restaurant Chef Award

Jean-Philippe Blondet, Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester

Pascal Canevet, La Maison Bleue

Kuba Winkowski, The Feathered Nest Country Inn

Young Chef Award

Rick Owens, Le Manoir aux quat'Saisons

Thomas Pill, Farnham Castle

Hannah Williams, Genuine Dining Company


The Craft Guild of Chefs will present the Special Award during the awards ceremony.

For more information, please visit: