Skip to main content
25th June 2024

Craft Guild of Chefs celebrates 19 winners at 30th anniversary awards ceremony

Written by: Edward Waddell
Chefs Asma Khan, Tom Tsappis and Michael Kwan as well as restaurant Humo were amongst the winners at the 30th anniversary of the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards.

Held on Monday 24th June at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House in London, the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards were attended by more than 800 of hospitality’s leading lights and the Craft Guild of Chefs’ royal patron HRH The Duchess of Edinburgh.

The Special Award was presented to Asma Khan, one of the UK’s and India’s brightest culinary stars and owner of the Darjeeling Express restaurant. Previous winners of this award include Simon Rogan, Angela Hartnett MBE, Michel Roux OBE & Albert Roux OBE, Marco Pierre White and Raymond Blanc OBE to name a few.

Other notable awards went to Tom Tsappis, chef owner of Killiecrankie House who won Restaurant Chef Award. Michael Kwan, executive head pastry chef at The Dorchester, won the Pastry Chef Award and the New Restaurant of the Year Award went to Miller Prada, for Humo London.

Now in its 30th year, the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards celebrates culinary excellence, for which 19 awards were presented on the night. It is only the second time in the awards history that an International Chef Award has been awarded. The first was to Alain Ducasse in 2018, and the second in 2024 to American Chef Thomas Keller.

Steve Munkley, vice president of the Craft Guild of Chefs, commented: “Thomas Keller is a true inspiration and we were delighted to recognise his work by awarding him the International Chef Award. The chefs here tonight, from apprentices, to college lecturers, and all the way through to fine dining have all achieved so much.”

The full list of winners:

  • Accredited College Restaurant Award: Sheffield College
  • Apprentice Chef Award, sponsored by Compass Group: Jess Miller, chef de partie, Chartwells Independent
  • Banqueting & Event Chef Award, sponsored by CleanEvent Services: Paul Bates, executive head chef, Hilton London Metropole
  • Chef Lecturer Award, sponsored by Grande Cuisine Academy: Anthony Gascoigne, chef lecturer, North Hertfordshire College
  • Competition Chef Award, sponsored by HRC 2025: Christopher Morrell, senior chef - officers' mess, Royal Air Force
  • Contract Catering Chef Award, sponsored by PizzaSi: Simon Webb, hospitality executive chef, BaxterStorey
  • Culinary Hero Award, sponsored by Williams Refrigeration: Graham Singer, culinary director, ESS
  • Development Chef Award, sponsored by Essential Cuisine: Martyn Lee, development chef, Waitrose
  • New Restaurant of the Year Award, sponsored by Alliance NZ: Miller Prada, Humo London
  • Pastry Chef Award, sponsored by Lakeland Dairies: Michael Kwan, executive head pastry chef, The Dorchester
  • Pub Restaurant Chef Award, sponsored by Bonemasters: Chris Mapp, head chef & owner, The Tickled Trout
  • Public Sector Chef Award, sponsored by Tugo Food Systems: Kath Breckon, training and development chef, North Yorkshire Council
  • Restaurant Chef Award, sponsored by Unox: Tom Tsappis, chef owner, Killiecrankie House
  • Street Food Chef Award, sponsored by Major International: Cameron Laidlaw, chef, Junk Street Food
  • Young Chef Award, sponsored by Meiko: Cameron Jones, chef cook, Waterside Inn
  • International Chef Award, sponsored by Cunard: Thomas Keller
  • Outstanding Support of Culinary Excellence Award, sponsored by Premier Foods: Savoy Educational Trust
  • Special Award, sponsored by Sodexo: Asma Khan
  • Sustainability Excellence Award, sponsored by Rational: Anna Pazdera, London Heathrow Marriott Hotel