Entries now open for Craft Guild of Chefs 25th anniversary awards

12/12/2017 11:12
Entries are now open for the Craft Guild of Chefs 25th anniversary awards, which “recognise and acknowledge remarkable talent across the UK and beyond” and are set to take place at the Grosvenor House Hotel, 4 June.

As well as the 14 public entry awards, the association has introduced a brand new ‘International Chef Award’ this year to mark its milestone anniversary, “recognising chefs who have had a strong influence on British cuisine and made a significant contribution to the UK hospitality industry.”

Three other awards will also be presented on the night – the Innovation Award; New Restaurant of the Year; and the Special Award, which is “reserved for someone who the Craft Guild of Chefs believes has made an outstanding contribution to the industry.”

Last year’s special award winner, ambassador of the Michelin-starred restaurant Northcote (Lancashire), Nigel Haworth said: “It’s an amazing industry that we’re part of. I’m very, very proud to have been given this award.

“For everybody that’s coming into the industry: it’s a very, very rewarding job, it’s an amazing career and I hope that we can keep encouraging young people to keep coming in, developing and enjoying the job.”

Steve Munkley, Craft Guild of Chefs vice president, added: “The UK foodservice sector is going through a renaissance and we’re extremely excited and passionate about the wealth of emerging and established talent in the industry at the moment.

“As the leading chefs’s organization, we champion and nurture talent. Our awards are an excellent opportunity for the industry and the wider market to acknowledge and applaud the work our chefs do, whether they work in a school kitchen, pub or restaurant"

Open to chefs both within and outside of the UK, membership is not required and all nominations will be judged by a panel of industry ambassadors, with the entry closing date 14 February 2018.

The full list of public entries are listed below, and more information, including tickets for the awards ceremony, is available via http://cgcawards.co.uk/.

  • Apprentice Chef Award

  • Armed Services Chef Award
  • Banqueting and Event Chef Award
  • Chef Lecturer Award

  • Competition Chef Award

  • Contract Catering Chef Award
  • Development Chef Award

  • Pastry Chef Award

  • People’s Choice Award

  • Pub Restaurant Chef Award
  • Public Sector Chef Award
  • Restaurant Chef Award

  • World Cuisine Chef Award
  • Young Chef Award

Copyright 2019 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital