About Us

About Us

Established in 1965 as a Guild of the Cookery and Food Association, the Craft Guild of Chefs has developed into the leading Chefs’ Association in the UK and has many members worldwide.

Our members come from all aspects of the foodservice and hospitality sectors working in a wide variety of positions from students and trainees to top management. No other association boasts such a broad and experienced membership.

Our aims and objectives
As an association representing the interest of chefs, our aims are clear:

To increase standards of professional cooking through greater awareness, education and training

To develop careers and prospects of our members

To help members develop and maintain their knowledge, skills and ability

To promote and participate in all levels of craft skills competitions in the UK and internationally

To work with industry, education and the media to win greater recognition for chefs and their profession

To endorse and promote the use of British and European produce, working with suppliers and manufacturers to create innovative menus and recipe ideas

Key Representatives:

National Chairman
Christopher Basten

National Vice Chairman
Lee Maycock

Director of Operations
Andrew Green

National Treasurer
Geoff Acott, MBE

National Secretary
Matt Owens

Royal Patron
HRH the Countess of Wessex GCVO

Vice Admiral Tony Johnstone-Burt, CB, OBE

Committee of Management:

Website Manager
Trish Caddy

Corporate Events Organiser
David Mulcahy

Exhibition Manager
Allister Bishop

Culinary Co-ordinator
Mark Hill

Schools/Colleges Representative
Mark Rigby

Education Co-ordinator
Gary Hunter

Social Events Co-ordinator
Maria Drury


Schools Representative
Steve Scuffell
Matt Owens

Culinary Team
Fergus Martin

Exhibitions Support
Douglas Jordan
Ian Nottage
Ruth Hansom
Connor Godfrey
Scott Lucas

Steve Love
Darren Thompson
Daniel Ayton

Corporate Events
Steve Munkley
Ian Nottage

College Representative
Wayne Harris

John Feeney

General Support
Cam Faherty

Division Representatives:

London Division
Daniel Ayton

Jersey Division
Dave Chalk

Guernsey Division
Dave Chalk

Regional Representatives:

John Retallick

Devon Region
Brian Steele

Bristol & Somerset Region
Scott Lucas

Cornwall Region
Dez Turland

Hertfordshire Region
Lee Maycock

Midlands Region
Mathew Shropshall

North West Region
Ian Jaundoo

Vice Presidents:
Stephen Scuffell (Chairman Vice Presidents Council)
John Retallick
Giovanni Fontebasso
Pauline Tucker
Roy Perrett
Duncan Holloway
William Kendrew
David Mulcahy
Steve Munkley
Don Irwin
Nick Vadis
Andrew Green
Geoff Acott, MBE

Pauline Tucker
Steve Scuffell
Duncan Holloway

Rules and Regulations
For a copy of the Craft Guild of Chefs Rules and Regulations click here for the pdf.

Contact Us
The Craft Guild of Chefs
1 Victoria Parade
331 Sandycombe Road
Telephone: 0208 948 3870
Email: enquiries@craftguildofchefs.org

Copyright 2016 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital