Parliamentary Pub Chef of the Year finalists announced

(L-R) Judges Dawn Redman, Andrej Prokes and David Wilson
13/12/2017 - 08:45
The eight finalists going through to the final heat of the Parliamentary Pub and Young Pub Chef of the Year awards have been announced (8 December), after receiving over 130 MP nominations.

Now in its second year, the competition - run by the British Beer & Pub Association (BBPA) and All Party Parliamentary Beer Group in partnership with Nestlé Professional – aims to recognise “the skill and talent of pub chefs and the important role they play in their local community and economy.”

The eight finalists (listed below) will go head-to-head in a cook-off in January, and will be judged by: Paul Dickinson, director of food at Fuller’s; Andrej Prokes, executive chef at Nestlé Professional; Kate Hempsall, consultant to the beer and pub trade; and Dawn Redman, director at Hospitality Jobs UK.

Parliamentary Pub Chef of the Year finalists:

  • Kevin Mclean of The Rat Inn (nominated by MP for Hexham, Guy Opperman)
  • Oliver Farrar of The Durham Ox (nominated by MP for Thirsk and Malton, Kevin Hollinrake)
  • Ryan Lamb of The Tally Ho (nominated by MP for Romsey and Southampton North, Caroline Nokes)
  • Craig Jeffery of The Ship Inn (nominated by MP for North Cornwall, Scott Mann)

Parliamentary Young Pub Chef of the Year finalists:

  • Michael di Bella of The Dean Inn (nominated by MP for Chichester, Gillian Keegan)
  • Gordon Stott of The Sun Inn (nominated by MP for North West Hampshire, Kit Malthouse)
  • Ben Morgan of The Plough Inn (nominated by MP for Ealing and Southall, Virendra Sharma)
  • Amy Houghton of Shoulder of Mutton Inn (nominated by MP of Calder Valley, Craig Whittaker)

BBPA chief executive Brigid Simmonds said: “Last year’s nominees were of a high standard, but this year really has seen a step up in quality. The entries showed the breadth of talent on display in our pubs and I am excited to see what our finalists produce in the cook off.”

Judge Prokes added: "The standard of entries for this year's competition was extremely high. I was really impressed with the quality and attention to detail shown by the nominees. The finalists can already be really proud of what they've achieved and I am excited to sample their work in the cook off."

The Parliamentary Pub and Parliamentary Young Pub Chef of the Year winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 7 February in the House of Commons.

Copyright 2017 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital