Craft Guild of Chefs honours members at AGM

Craft Guild of Chefs honours members at AGM
Andrew Green flanked by Craft Guild’s Andrew Bennett, Stephen Scuffell and president, vice admiral Tony Johnstone-Burt
10/04/2019 - 12:09
The Craft Guild of Chefs has announced the winners of its 2019 Honours and Awards for the year 2018 during its Annual General Meeting held on Sunday, April 7. The prestigious event took place at the Victory Services Club in London, followed by lunch created by executive chef and Craft Guild member Paul Mattocks.

The Craft Guild of Chefs Honours and Awards recognises exceptional commitment and outstanding contributions from its members over the past 12 months. All winners were nominated for demonstrating excellence in the chosen categories.

Craft Guild of Chefs chairman Andrew Bennett said: “As an association supporting all chefs, whether they be apprentices starting out or established professionals, it is extremely important for us to acknowledge and appreciate their excellent work. Our Members Awards gives our members a chance to nominate their peers for all their hard work over the last 12 months.

“We are very grateful for all our members’ ongoing support for the Craft Guild of Chefs. Congratulations to all winners.”

Honours and awards were presented to an individual member or multiple winners within a single category. The awards included rising stars, local heroes, national hero, diploma for support, fellow, governor, honorary membership, college certificate, company award, chairman’s shield, chairman’s award, president’s trophy, life membership and special award.

There was a twist to this year’s chairman’s award; this was awarded to Andrew Green, chief executive of the Craft Guild of Chefs. As the main organiser of the Guild’s AGM and awards, to his knowledge the award was going to another Guild member, but chairman Andrew Bennett plotted with the help from other members to surprise and honour him with this prestigious award.

Andrew Green shares his delight: “I am very humbled to receive this year’s chairman’s award. During the announcement of the award, the script I had written for the compere suddenly changed and to my disbelief, I was called to the stage to receive this award. I wasn’t expecting it at all. I am still utterly shocked and amazed.

“I have worked with Andrew Bennett for many years and to receive this award under his chairmanship is an honour. It is nice to be recognised by your peers for the work you do. I love what my job involves, which is all for the good of the Guild and the industry. Supporting chefs and foodservice professionals is something I am very passionate about.”

Medals were also awarded to members who have been actively involved and have further promoted the aims of the Craft Guild of Chefs. Wayne Harris and Gary Hunter were awarded gold medals for their long and outstanding commitment on its committees, and bronze award winners were Sion Farrell, Jasbeer Dawar, Craig Miles and Steve Oram.

The governor award was presented to Steve Munkley. As a Fellow and valued member of the Guild for more than 20 years, his outstanding service proved him a worthy winner for governorship. Munkley regularly submits award nominations for many of his peers and works on various Craft Guild events throughout the year. He assists with its annual awards, judging for National Chef of the Year and continues to develop the Graduate Awards programme. This award was nominated by chief executive Andrew Green.

Green said: “Many congratulations to Steve. After all the nominations that he has put in, it is only fair that he receives one himself. I am delighted Steve has been recognised and honoured with this deserving award. His work ethic and commitment to the industry is outstanding. He has led chefs in many industry competitions. He is an excellent mentor to up-and-coming chefs, along with established industry professionals.”

An honorary membership award was presented to Paul Nieduszynski, Gary Jones, Jean Kendrew and current National Chef of the Year titleholder, Kuba Winkowski. Each was proven to have rendered outstanding service to the Craft Guild of Chefs.

Full list of Craft Guild of Chefs Honours and Awards:

Rising stars

Ben Cowley, junior sous chef at The Wilderness

Ieuan Davies – highest achiever at the 2018 Pastry Craft Guild Graduate Awards

Local heroes

Ian Jaundoo

Phil Dixon

Rod Naylor

National hero

David Bryant, Major International

Diploma for support

Samphire Restaurant Jersey


Louise Barton



Direct Seafood

John Holden

College certificate

Hull College

Farnborough College

Tameside College

Bronze award

Sion Farrell

Jasbeer Dawar

Craig Miles

Steve Oram

Gold award

Wayne Harris

Gary Hunter


Mark Reynolds


Steve Munkley

Honorary membership

Jean Kendrew

Gary Jones

Paul Nieduszynski

Kuba Winkowski

Company award

CH&Co Group


Worshipful Company of Cooks

Fresh Montgomery

Essential Cuisine


Pan Artisan

Chairman’s shield

Eastleigh College

Chairman’s award

Andrew Green

President’s trophy

Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel

Life membership

Audrey Dawber

Special award

Tony Reynolds

Copyright 2019 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital