CGOC team return with Olympic haul

23/10/2008 - 00:00
The Craft Guild of Chefs Culinary Academy team 2008 has returned home from this year's Culinary Olympics in Germany with an impressive collection of medals.

Competing between the 19th to 22nd October 2008 in Erfurt, the team headed up by captain Andy Twells scooped 14 medals with James Davies from Eton College bringing home gold. Team Captain Andy Twells said: "The results reflect the Academies ethos in developing and nurturing new competitive talent, outstanding efforts from all the culinary academy team are easily identified from the results. These achievements are underpinned by the efforts of the mentors on the academy panel they are Bernhardt Engelhardt, Michael Godfrey and Matt Owens. "They travelled 660 miles to support and mentor over the weekend prior to the competition effectively displaying our commitment to skills for the future. Special mention must go to Wayne Harris who's single minded dedication and selfless commitment which has had a significant contribution on every award. Clearly none of this would be possible without our dedicated sponsors Electrolux UK, Essential Cuisine, Gourmet Classic, Brakes." The winners were: Vince Cottam - Westminster College - Silver Matt Shropshall - UCB - Bronze Christopher Basten - Marriott County Hall - Bronze James Davies - Eton College - Gold Denis Mwakalua - Fujitsu - Silver Ben Ford - Compass Group - Bronze Sophie Wright - Freelance Chef - Silver Lahiru Jesekara - Pont de la tor - Bronze Natalie Culleton -Royal Bank of Scotland - Silver Bernhardt Engelhard - Milburns - Bronze Lisa Mansel - Langhams - Silver Liz Bravery - Marriot County Hall - Silver Fergus Martin - Robinson Wyboston Lakes - Silver Robbie Robertson - ESS Off shore - Silver

Copyright 2016 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital