Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017

When: Thursday 1st June 2017
Where: Westminster Park Plaza

The Craft Guild of Chefs has announced the winners of its annual awards, recognising key figures in the UK chef industry at a ceremony held at Westminster Park Plaza on June 1st 2017.

The winner of the Honorary Award was named as Phil Hooper, who worked at Sodexo for 40 years before stepping down from his position of brand communication director last year. Following an online vote, the Peoples Choice Award was given to Harry Lomas MBE BEM, executive head chef at The Grove Hotel. The Special Award was given to Nigel Haworth of The Northcote Hotel and the winner of the New Restaurant Award went to Vineet Bhatia, London, the progressive Indian restaurant off Kings Road, Chelsea that opened last year. The Craft Guild of Chefs Awards also acknowledged a host of leading lights across the industry, whether they work in a pub, fine dining restaurant, city university, military unit or in contract catering.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Apprentice Chef Award - Tom Hamblet, South Lodge Hotel (sponsored by Compass Group UK & Ireland)
Armed Services Chef Award - Cpl Ian Mark, Royal Air Force (sponsored by Purple Foodservice Solutions)       
Banqueting and Event Chef Award - Karen Poynter, Chester Boyd (sponsored by Pidy UK)         
Chef Lecturer Award - Mathew Shropshall, UCB College of Food (sponsored by Hotelympia 2018)
Competition Chef Award - Simon Webb, Culinary Olympics (sponsored by Nestlé Professional)                  
Contract Catering Chef Award - Glynn Lawrence, Sodexo Prestige (sponsored by Kerry)
Development Chef Award - Glenn Evans, Las Iguanas (sponsored by Essential Cuisine)        
Ethnic Chef Award - Tong Chee Hwee, Hakkasan Group (sponsored by Nayati UK)
Innovation Award - The Clink Charity (sponsored by Major International)
New Restaurant of the Year Award - Vineet Bhatia London (sponsored by Jelf Insurance)
Pastry Chef Award - Emmanuel Bonneau, Hilton Worldwide (sponsored by Carpigiani UK)
People’s Choice Award - Harry Lomas (sponsored by Nisbets)
Pub Chef Award - Gordon Stott, The Sun Inn (sponsored by Bidfood)     
Public Sector Chef Award - Jamie Gibbs, ESS Government Services, Compass Group (sponsored by Premier Foods)
Restaurant Chef Award - Daniel Smith, The Ingham Swan (sponsored by Hoshizaki UK)
Young Chef Award - Ben Garnett-Sinclair, Lusso (sponsored by British Premium Meats)
Special Award - Nigel Haworth, Northcote Manor (sponsored by Sodexo UK & Ireland)
Honorary Award - Phil Hooper



Latest awards

02/06/2017 - 02:00
The Craft Guild of Chefs has announced the winners of its annual awards, recognising key figures in...
31/03/2017 - 15:49
The nominees for the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017 to take place at the Westminster Park Plaza...
Cost Sector Catering Awards
10/03/2017 - 07:00
The names have been announced of the short-listed candidates in the frame to win one of the Cost...
Nominations deadline extended for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017
13/02/2017 - 10:45
The deadline to enter the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017 has been extended to February 17th.
Nominations close today for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017
10/02/2017 - 11:12
The deadline to enter the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2017 is 5pm today!
Craft Guild of Chefs announces finalists for 2016 Graduate Awards
01/07/2016 - 12:28
Following a series of challenging heats on Tuesday, 28th June, 16 young chefs are one step closer...

Previous years awards

09/07/2007 00:07
The 2007 Craft Guild of Chefs Awards ceremony was held on Monday July 9th at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, London.
02/01/2007 00:01
Here you'll find the definitive list of categories for the Craft Guild of Chefs' Annual Awards.


Copyright 2017 Craft Guild of Chefs

Design & Development by Eton Digital